Ontario Secondary School DANCEFEST

DANCEFEST incorporated February 2015 as a not-for-profit

YEAR: 2015 April 23 - 25

VENUE:

Scotiabank Convention Centre, 6815 Stanley Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ont. L2G 3Y9

HOST:

OSSDF Board: (in collaboration with Scott Kufske, from Terpsichore) Laurel Brown, President Jocelyn Bell-Summersby, Vice-President Melissa Chiandussi Tara Duffy Michelle Hillier Allison Campbell, Adjudication Platform Coordinator Creative Collaboration Sponsor – Glenys Fuentes McQueen

Host – Jay Schramek Videographer – Jordan Hill





CONTACT: Laurel Brown

ATTENDING SCHOOLS/DANCE TEACHERS:

Bear Creek S.S., Barrie Bluevale Collegiate Inst., Waterloo Cameron Heights C.I., Kitchener Cardinal Carter C.S.S., Leamington Chatham Kent S.S., Chatham Eastwood Collegiate Inst., Kitchener General Amherst H.S., Amhertburg Grand River Col. Inst., Kitchener Holy Names Catholic H.S., Windsor Newtonbrook S.S., Toronto St. Anne Catholic H.S., Belle River Sir John A. Macdonald S.S., Waterloo St. Thomas of Villanova C.S.S., La Salle Tecumseh Vista Acad., Tecumseh W. A. Porter Collegiate Inst., Toronto Walkerville Collegiate Inst., Windsor Widdifield S.S., North Bay

Laura Bruno, Heather Robert Laurel Brown Katie Knowlton Maggy Sonoski Melanie Randall Jill Dolishny Allison Campbell Pam Germann **Jasmine** Lam **Joanna Perlus** Kelly Amyot Meghan Kidd Cathy Harris, Melissa Chiandussi Alison Azar Tara Duffy Roger Wellington Jocelyn Bell

#Participants: 354 – 27 (Sinclair) = 327 participants

Adjudicators:

Donna Marie Baratta, Teacher/Artist Debra Kapp, Elementary Teacher Michelle Hillier, OISE Inst/Groove



Workshop Leaders:

Gillian Bartolucci Dustin Pym Troy Sexton Melissa Jane Shaw Josh Court Alan Faigal CULTURE SHOCK Ayesha Mansur Jay Schramek Gabrielle Coulter Tamla Matthews Stephanie Graham Donna Marie Baratta Debra Kapp Newton Mores **Josh Taylor** Michelle Hillier

Contemporary Urban (Krump) Stomp Jazz and Post-Secondary Options Hip Hop Bollywood Urban Dance on Film Tap and Audition Tips and Tricks **Contemporary Fushion** Afro Caribbean Musical Theatre - Collaborative Theatre Jazz **Creating Artistry** Brazilian Latin Ballroom Groove



OVERALL Awards:

(*political action – strike by Essex Bd. Of Ed – Sinclair S.S. had to withdraw)

2015 OSSDF AWARDS

CERTIFICATE AWARDS

These awards were given to students in each category according to their placement of first, second, or third.

NOVICE GROUP AWARD CATEGORY

Novice Small Group AWAKENING HOLY NAMES

Choreographed by Julien Mortier, Noah Souillere

Novice Large Group

NOTHINGS WRONG SIR JOHN A MACDONALD Choreographed by Sam Dilgert, Sarah Werezak

PRE-COMPETITIVE GROUP AWARD CATEGORY

Pre-Competitive Small Group

LET'S DANCE Choreographed by Emma Riel McManus ST. THOMAS OF VILLANOVA

Pre-Competitive Large Group

EGYPTIAN CELEBRATION Choreographed by Melissa Gebrael CARDINAL CARTER

Pre-Competitive LineOUT OF STEPChoreographed by Amanda DanishevskyNEWTONBROOK

Pre-Competitive ProductionTO THIS DAYChoreographed by Carly BeaudinWALKERVILLE

COMPETITIVE GROUP AWARD CATEGORY

Competitive Small Group	
RESOLVE	Choreographed by Meghan Merritt
HOLY NAMES	

Competitive Large Group

HOT LIKE WOW	Choreographed by Shanessa Harris
CHATHAM KENT	

COMPETITIVE LINE

EASTWOOD

DESTINY'S CHILD	Choreographed by Tawnie Clarke
WALKERVILLE	

COMPETITIVE PRODUCTION *E 14* Ch

Choreographed by Dance Collective

CHOREOGRAPHY AWARDS

NOVICE CHOREOGRAPY AWARDS

SOLO - NOVICE ALONE WITHOUT YOU	Choreographed by Katelyn Garrick
DUET/TRIO – NOVICE TAKIN' OVER	Choreographed by Wolabo Adem, Abdi Hassen
SMALL GROUP - NOVICE THE AWAKENING	Choreographed by Julien Mortier, Noah Soulliere
LARGE GROUP - NOVICE NOTHING'S WRONG	Choreographed by Sam Dilgert, Sarah Werezak

PRE-COMPETITIVE CHOREOGRAPHY AWARDS

SOLO – PRE-COMPETITIVE

SUITECASE OF DREAMS Choreographed by Madison Lucki

IMMA BE	Choreographed by Jenna Shortt, Mike Bowes	
SMALL GROUP – PRE-COMPETITIVE		
SHUT IT DOWN	Choreographed by Ashely Cole-Daley, Alina Aronov	
LARGE GROUP – PRE-COM IN TUNE	IPETITIVE Choreographed by Amanda Danishevsky, Roy Walters	
LINE – PRE-COMPETITIVE		
OUT OF TIME	Choreographed by Meghan Merritt	
PRODUCTION – PRE-COMPETITIVE		
TO THIS DAY	Choreographed by Carly Beaudin	
COMPETITIVE CHOREOGRAPHY AWARDS		
SOLO - COMPETITIVE		
E1	Choreographed by Alyssa Warren	
DUET/TRIO - COMPETITIVE		
BREAK THE SILENCE	Choreographed by Emily Hock, Victoria Theriault	
SMALL GROUP - COMPETITIVE		
E11	Choreographed by Katie Borths, Leilani Bowry, Lia Espinal, Kayla Liebig, Alyssa Warren	
LARGE GROUP - COMPETITIVE		
REMEMBER ME	Choreographed by Jaiden Lyons	
LINE - COMDETITIVE		

LINE - COMPETITIVE DESTINY'S CHILDREN

DUET/TRIO – PRE-COMPETITIVE

Choreographed by Tawnie Clarke

DANCEFEST 2015 CREATIVE COLLABORATION ENTRIES

Widdifield Secondary School, North Bay St. Thomas of Villanova Catholic Secondary School, La Salle

SATEC W.A. Porter Collegiate Institute, Toronto



Adjudicators and Jay Schramek



Jordan Hill & Laurel Brown